Best. Burger. EVER.

Whoa.

I am still trying to wrap my head around how delicious my dinner just was.

As a child (ok, and an adult) if I could eat a hamburger every meal, I would. Thus, when I shifted to veggie burgers, I was a little skeptical. And, after trying a number of different brands, I still remained relatively unimpressed. The flavor was off, or the texture was too much (I have MAJOR texture issues and hate chunks or pieces in pretty much anything I eat).  Until…..

The Sublime Burger

This meal is so delicious, it is worthy of rocking out to this fitting tune….

1 cup dry green lentils soaked for 2 hours
1 ¼ cup wheat bran or 1 c wheat germ
2  tbsp  flax seeds soaked for 6 to 8 hours
1  tbsp tomato paste
1 medium onion
10 small cloves of garlic (about ¼ c)
1 tbsp cider vinegar
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic powder
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp oregano
¾ cup walnuts

As you can see…this is not a “throw together at the last minute” kind of recipe. BUT…if you can plan ahead, which you should absolutely do, it will be SO worth it.

In a blender, place fresh garlic and soaked flax seeds with their soaking water, if any. Add the tomato paste, cider vinegar, and toasted walnuts, and blend until all ingredients become a cohesive paste. Pour into a mixing bowl.

Put 1 tbsp of vegetable oil in a skillet and sweat (goo.gl/bZIq) the onions with the oregano and a dash of black pepper if desired. Once they are soft and yellow, turn off the heat. Let cool a couple of minutes.

Pour the lentils in a blender, blend on medium high for 4 minutes, then stop the blender and add the onions. Blend until a crumbly mixture results: not completely smooth, but not chunky either. *Note: like I mentioned, I hate when things are chunky. Thus, I blended mine until completely smooth.

Pour into the mixing bowl with the garlic and walnut paste. Mix well. Add all spices and mix again until completely blended. Add the wheat bran and olive oil, and combine.

Make small patties and put into a hot skillet with oil to brown 2 minutes on each side. Once all the patties are browned, place on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes at 350° F.

I finished mine off by placing a patty on top of a bed of romaine leaves and smeared the top with half of an avocado and some Roma tomato slices. Then I paired it with a side of fresh, raw green beans.

You can serve them on hamburger buns, especially if you are trying to trick meat-lovers. But believe me, it will NOT be hard to trick them with this beauty.

This gem is ALL KINDS of yummy!!!

This recipe came from Zizania. For others like it, click the link on the left.

Leave a Reply

